Best New Song Winners

Best New Song Prize Winner 2021: Eden Tredwell
for ‘Those Stars’ from Galaxy Train
Performed by Jack Ofrecio

Eden Tredwell
Jack Ofrecio

Eden Tredwell (Music & Lyrics) 

Eden Tredwell is a London-based songwriter, composing for both pop and musical theatre. She currently has four musicals in development, including ‘Galaxy Train’, which features her nominated song ‘Those Stars’ and has received funding from the Japanese government. Her work has been featured with British Youth Music Theatre, Adam Lenson Productions, Perfect Pitch and BEAM to name a few. Her pop work has also included releases with Universal Music, Good Soldier and Loudkult Records. Known for her catchy yet versatile writing style, she is delighted to be in the Best New Song Prize final, and must thank arranger Gus Tredwell and director Yojiro Ichikawa for their contributions to the piece.

Jack Ofrecio (Performer)  

Jack Ofrecio is a 2021 graduate of Mountview Academy of Theatre Arts, having finished his training playing the title character is Stiles and Drew’s “Kipps”. He has just finished workshopping a new musical by Dave Malloy and Lucy Kirkwood for the National Theatre and is honoured to have been asked to showcase Eden’s song for you tonight. 

Voice, Vision & Potential Prize: Flora Leo
for ‘Our Fight Is Not Over (The Ballad of Lexa)’ from Triangularity
Performed by Karen Mavundukure

Flora Leo
Karen Mavundukure

Flora Leo (Music and Lyrics) 

Flora studied Composition at the Royal Academy of Music, and has gone on to work as a composer, lyricist, book writer, arranger and MD. Her original musicals include The Lightning Road (Iris Theatre, 2018), and Show & Tell, a youth musical that has been performed around the world, including off-Broadway (All Star Entertainment NYC, 2017). Her work has been featured in the Search for a Twitter Composer competition at the Soho Theatre, and in the new writing showcase Prelude 2 at the Tristan Bates Theatre.  

As an MD, Flora has worked on productions such as The Last Five Years at the London Theatre, and Free Solo at the Drayton Arms Theatre, for which she received an OFF WEST END award nomination for Best Musical Director in 2018.  

She champions positive LGBTQ+ representation and the queer female experience in her work, and her new semi-autobiographical musical Triangularity turns a spotlight on queer representation itself, telling the story of a passionate cult TV fan who joins the fight for change, after the untimely death of yet another beloved lesbian character sparks a revolution. 

 Karen Mavundukure (Performer

A professional singer and actress, Karen Mavundukure is from Stevenage. Originally of Zimbabwean heritage, she is best known for her role as Effie White in the West End production of DreamGirls, as well as her performances on ITV1’s X factor 2015. She is a singer and songwriter and has written and vocally produced numerous songs. Other Theatre Credits Include: Soloist in The Music of Andrew Lloyd Webber (Leicester Curve), Respect: The Aretha Franklin Tour (UK Tour), Sofia in The Color Purple (Leicester Curve and Birmingham Hippodrome). Effie White in Dreamgirls (West End). 
TV Credits Include: The X Factor (ITV) 
Film Credits Include: Matilda (Netflix) 

Training: Karen attended the prestigious Liverpool Institute of Performing Arts for her training in Music. 

Previous Best New Song Winners

2020: Amir Shoenfeld & Matthew Greene for ‘I’m Your Guy’ from Benny In Beta
2019: Theo Jamieson for “Yes, Amazing” from Kali’s Toenail
2018: Adam Wachter for “You and Me” from Any Minute Now
2017: Claire Rivers and Tom Lees for “Gerry And Me” from P.S. I Love You
2016: Tim Connor for “Back To School” from Heart of Winter
2015: Richy Hughes and Joseph Finlay for “Don’t Look Down” from The Superhero
2014: Tamar Broadbent for “Library Boy” and “The Procrastination Song”
2013: Tim Sutton for “That Once-in-a-Lifetime Feeling”
2012: Douglas Hodge for “Powercut” and Dougal Irvine for “Do You Want A Baby, Baby” from The Busker’s Opera (joint winners)
2011: Joint winners Tim Sutton for “I Am” and Eric Angus and Paul James for “Kaboom! Kapow!” from The Boy Who Fell Into A Book
2010: Gwyneth Herbert for “Lovely London Town” from The A to Z of Mrs P
2009: Olly Ashmore for “Wake Up TV” from Hot Flush 2
2008: Mark Allcorn for “My Turn Soon” from Singles.