Fred Carl


Fred Carl


Fred Cark is a composer, arranger, musical director, flutist and educator. He is the co-creator, with Ed DuRante, of a musical theater adaptation of Anthony Burgess’ novel, A Clockwork Orange, which premiered at London’s Theatre Royal Stratford East in 2011. His musical director credits include Kirsten Childs’ The Bubbly Black Girl Sheds Her Chameleon Skin at Dixon Place, Musical Theatre Works, Playwrights Horizons and the cast recording (Audelco Award for Best Musical Direction) and Miracle Brothers at New York’s Vineyard Theatre. For six years he arranged, composed for and musical directed Tony Award–winning actress LaChanze’s cabaret performances at Lincoln Center Theater and Joe’s Pub. His long collaboration with writer hattie gossett has produced multiple jazz theater pieces, including the pussy & cash suite; in the waiting room of the 21st century and the immigrant suite: hey xenophobe! who you calling a foreigner?, which have been staged in New York at The New School, The Public Theater, Joe’s Pub, the Whitney Museum of American Art, HERE Arts Center, the Tribeca Performing Arts Center, the Vision Festival and the National Black Arts Festival, among other venues. He composed music for Sparrow Village, a short film directed by Christine Choy for the Zigen Fund. In 2005, his revised score for Suzen Murakoshi’s play Slippery When Wet was produced at St. Paul, Minnesota’s Penumbra Theatre. He designed and has co-led (with Robert Lee) a summer musical theater-writing workshop at Theatre Royal Stratford East, training contemporary artists to write for the musical theater stage since 1999. He is an artistic associate of Stratford East and a member of the theater’s musical theater advisory committee. He has been awarded support by the Meet the Composer foundation, as well as two writing residencies from the Edward F. Albee Foundation, and was an inaugural writer at the Rhinebeck Writers Retreat. He is currently an associate arts professor in the New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts Graduate Musical Theatre Writing Program. He is a 1991 graduate of that program.

Writer Type