The Stiles + Drewe Prize

The Stiles + Drewe Prize is an unprecedented programme for the development and showcasing of British musical theatre writers. In 1985, George Stiles and Anthony Drewe were the recipients of the inaugural Vivian Ellis Prize for their musical Just So. Winning the prize introduced them to many leading lights of the musical theatre world, whose advice and support in championing new writing became so important to them. Since 2008, Stiles and Drewe have recognised new musical theatre writing via their annual Best New Song prize which has been produced by MMD. Since 2016, the broadening of the Stiles + Drewe Prize to include the biennial MTI Mentorship Award, has offered the musical theatre writing community greater financial and in-kind support via its two distinct arms:

A biennial award given to an MMD writer or writing team who have submitted a first full draft of a new musical. The Award, which is generously supported by Music Theatre International (Europe), involves an intensive week-long writing retreat, two Progress Labs, and an Industry Showcase presentation of the musical.

2018 WINNERS: Jim Barne & Kit Buchan for The Season

George Stiles, Jim Barne, Kit Buchan and Anthony Drewe

In 2018 The Season was presented at BEAM and won the Mentorship Award.

Following a year of development, in 2019 the show received a co-production at the Royal & Derngate, Northampton and the New Wolsey Theatre, Ipswich starring Tori Allen-Martin and Alex Cardall.

In 2020 Jim and Kit won The Stage Debut Award for Best Composer or Lyricist for The Season.

Previous Mentorship Award winners:

2017: Ben Glasstone for Reanimator: A Zombie Musical
2016: Darren Clark & Rhys Jennings for The Wicker Husband

The Season in rehearsal at Royal & Derngate 2019 (© Pamela Raith Photography)

Recognising an outstanding song from a new musical written by a member of MMD, offered in conjunction with the Stephen Sondheim Society Student Performer of the Year.

2020 WINNERS: Amir Shoenfeld & Matthew Greene for ‘I’m Your Guy’ from Benny In Beta

Amir Shoenfeld
Matthew Greene

Runner-Up: Richard Marsh, Miranda Cooper & Nick Coler for ‘My First Ex-Boyfriend’ from Son Of Rambow

Miranda Cooper
Nick Coler
Richard Marsh

Voice, Vision & Potential Prize: Zoe Morris & Meg McGrady for ‘Broken Guitar’ from The Phase

Zoe Morris
Meg McGrady

Previous Song Prize winners:

2019: Theo Jamieson for “Yes, Amazing” from Kali’s Toenail
2018: Adam Wachter for “You and Me” from Any Minute Now
2017: Claire Rivers and Tom Lees for “Gerry And Me” from P.S. I Love You
2016: Tim Connor for “Back To School” from Heart of Winter
2015: Richy Hughes and Joseph Finlay for “Don’t Look Down” from The Superhero
2014: Tamar Broadbent for “Library Boy” and “The Procrastination Song”
2013: “That Once-in-a-Lifetime Feeling” by Tim Sutton
2012: Joint winners Douglas Hodge for “Powercut” and Dougal Irvine for “Do You Want A Baby, Baby” from The Busker’s Opera
2011: Joint winners Tim Sutton for “I Am” and Eric Angus and Paul James for “Kaboom! Kapow!” from The Boy Who Fell Into A Book
2010: Gwyneth Herbert for “Lovely London Town” from The A to Z of Mrs P
2009: Olly Ashmore for “Wake Up TV” from Hot Flush 2
2008: Mark Allcorn for “My Turn Soon” from Singles.